Love the Life You Lead. Fall 2013 DAY EIGHT. Camille Dohrn

This is a piece I wrote last fall for what I thought was a Facebook page only. I found it tonight purely by accident. Writing it was a very difficult thing at that time. In rereading this tonight, I see how it was also instrumental in a healing process that means looking “death” or any (significant) loss, straight on and refusing to give it the power to stop me from living.

LTLYL...Love the life you lead

“What is the nature of my conversation with death?”I’ve ruminated on this question numerous times over the last four years while struggling with a string of deaths and losses. I’ve come to believe that its a question not to be answered but to ask, and to let it inform one’s life.

Love the Life You Lead. Fall 2013
DAY EIGHT. Camille Dohrn

The first time death came along and knocked me to my knees, I was 28. My father died suddenly while I was far away, on a bicycle in France. Life as I knew it seemed to swirl around me, all the familiar patterns morphing and changing until I didn’t recognize it any more. It was still there, but it seemed unfamiliar. I didn’t know my place in it anymore. I felt like I was outside, looking in, wondering what the rules of the game were. It didn’t occur…

View original post 854 more words

Leave a Reply

