19 years and 15 days

My oldest daughter was born Dec. 22nd 1990, and I’ve been a stay-at-home mom since.

One of those "gourmet" meals.

Along the way, I’ve photographed everything in my world, taught french and english, coached sports, designed and made jewelry, written volumes, designed and planted gardens, planned and cooked thousands of gourmet (and not so gourmet) meals, trained dogs, planned and led travels in foreign countries, managed finances, volunteered in many capacities, and learned countless skills. This blog is dedicated to women like me.  I titled it “What do you do?” because almost nothing makes me stumble over my words, stall, and get tongue-tied, but this question will do it – particularly from someone who I don’t know personally.

Group project at the kitchen table

I know many others whose creativity in avoiding the answer to that question alone makes them worthy of this dedication.

What I hope to do here is to share images from my world and reflections on it.  In doing so, I hope to honor its richness.  I have wanted to do a 365 photography project for a long time, and it occurred to me recently that the ultimate challenge would be to photograph my own life.  Its so easy to think of it as boring and mundane, yet every day there are moments of beauty that go unnoticed, unheralded and unappreciated.  I hope to capture some of those moments. I also plan on sharing my reflections here.  I hope that you will share with me too.

This is my first attempt at a blog, expect to see changes to this page as I learn how to make it more interesting.

10 thoughts on “19 years and 15 days

  1. Cami, This is fun. I’ve started a journal of my own because you inspired me to do so after our chat. I’m looking forward to more of your blog. Go! XO!

  2. What an honest and beautiful tribute to you and your family Cami!
    I will pass this along to others – I love the ‘heart space’ from which your blog was created.
    PS, I think I’ll have pasta tonight 🙂

  3. Yay Cami!I Love Love all the livelong day the banner photo.
    And this is a good blog.
    My response to that question was “I lurk. and then when I get done I loiter.” Juvenile but I amused myself. Serves ’em right for asking. It’s as if we all need to wear the mechanic’s uniform with our vocation in the name-spot on the chest. You could categorize people by what they “do” but it’s a smaller picture than the real world.

  4. I would have loved to been a stay-at-home-Mom! Alas, I got married late, when I was 38 years old and it just wasn’t in the cards. I love your blog. Thanks for sharing.

  5. Thanks for taking the time, courage and creativity to capture the inner experience of your journey as a mother, friend, artist, seeker, citizen and much more. Your words and story ring very close to home and I feel lucky and blessed to witness your process and also reflect on my own. So many of us (mothers et al.) grapple with reconciling those multiple lens and expressions of our identity and I appreciate how you are sharing this right from the center of your life – the words, images and advice from the kiddo’s tells a good, beautiful, intimate story. Thanks Cami.
    -Aimie

  6. I came to your blog from your Madrona Moms post. I think this is a neat idea…what commitment!
    My oldest son was also born on December 22nd. The day after winter solstice…I think of it as the day of new beginnings.

    • Thanks for reading. I had no idea what would happen if I posted this on Madrona Moms, but I have lived here a long time and figured that there were a lot of women like me in the neighborhood who might think similarly to me.

Leave a Reply

